I ran Myself Over

Posted: March 23, 2014 in Region Rats, The Region, True to Life

This story is the second part of another story that happened to me.

Well, I did it…I ran myself over!

It finally happened

I worked a late night. I drove to the boss’s house because I was going to ride to the job-site with him. He moved his van from his back alley parking spot and I parked in (backwards) in his place. It was around 9 pm.

After three and a half hours at the job site, we ran out of material and had to wrap things up. My boss drove me back to his house and dropped me off. We said our good-byes and I closed his door. I walked over to my van and I crawled underneath it to start it.PEACE

Remember…? I have to start my van underneath it.
And yes, I haven’t gotten around to fixing that ignition problem.

I grabbed the tool that starts the van and was feeling around underneath the van with it. It being dark out, I was having a difficult time trying to locate the starter. I scooted a little further underneath the van thinking it would help me find it…and I did.

At first, the van didn’t start right up. I had to do it again. The van finally started and began to accelerate slowly in reverse. I was still underneath the van.

Quickly I tried to get away, but the right front tire pinched the material of my coat, trapping my arm in place. My upper arm was trapped underneath the tire of my moving van. It was obvious that the van was in reverse. There was nothing I could do to stop it.

I couldn’t sit up, I desperately grabbed for the slowly rolling tire that was gradually crushing my bicep. The pressure was immense. I thought that my arm was going to explode. All I could think about was having to amputate my arm. My face was inches away from my vans front tire. I watched as the wheel slowly rolled over my arm. All I could do was lay there.

When the van rolled over my arm I watched as the van back over my boss’s privacy fence. It continued to roll into the backyard and came to a stop when it crashed into a tree.

My boss jumped out of his van and ran over to help me up.

“Are you okay?” my boss asked in disbelief. “Did your van run over you?”

“Yeah…my arm.”My Arm

“Oh my God! Do you need to go to the hospital?”

“No, no, I’m alright, really,” I said. “Sorry about the fence.”

“Forget the fence, how are you? Where did it get you?” he asked as he looked me over to see if I was okay.

“My arm. The van rolled over my arm,” I told him as I lifted it. It was weird that it didn’t hurt like you’d think it would. I mean, it was sore but strangely enough it didn’t bruise.

Leave a Reply

