#Rilla

Posted: October 4, 2013 in Shit Starting and Shenanigans, The Region, True to Life
Tags:

What is it?

What does it mean?

Posted near Randolph Street

Posted near Randolph Street

With a camera in hand and an hour to kill, I noticed this sticker posted on a lamp post. It looked cool; with the hash-tag(#) in front of the word RILLA; spelled out in lower case letters. The hash-tag in front of the word RILLA instantly made me think of Twitter. It was obvious an advertisement for “something” and they were going through a social network.

Cool.
I do that too.

So I took a picture – trying to be all “artsy”…
…I have to admit it didn’t turn out that bad.
I like it.

But what is RILLA? I have to know.

The Search Starts with Twitter

Tweeting into the Unknown
This is what I Tweeted

Walking around #Chicago and I noticed this sticker… #rilla
Thought I’d post it on Twitter and see what happens.
pic.twitter.com/M7tsTB33X5

At first it was quiet. I didn’t get a response right away, so I furthered my investigations onto YouTube.

The first video I watched that was associated with the word RILLA was a 2:45 video (rap) with an awesome piano riff. It was posted about 6 months ago and with the condition of the sticker on the lamppost – this could be a match…but I shall continue on.

Thumbnail 2:45Watch Later

RILLA – AINT NUTTIN NEW

  • by OFFTHISEARTH365
  • 1,212 views (at this time)

After watching the video and giving it a THUMBS UP, I went back to the #rilla tweet on Twitter to check things out.


everybody aint yo friend #Rilla

You would think that this would be a hostile remark. However, after watching the video on YouTube (RILLA – AINT NUTTIN NEW) this is somewhat what the song is about.

So far, I feel this strengthens my case that this RILLA sticker was intended for them.

But there’s MORE on RILLA on YouTube, to make sure my conclusion is correct I continued on. The next RILLA I got from YouTube was this 4:45 video (rap) that was obviously filmed by a buddy of his and was posted 2 months ago.

Cool song though.

Thumbnail Watch Later

Rilla – No Limit (Prod by So Sick) [Official Video]

  • by emkid626
  • 153 views (at this time)

After watching this video I went back to Twitter to see if anything else came up.

everybody claim they real but obviously not cus everybody falling out wit eachother #Rilla

depending on ppl will only lead to disappointments #Rilla

if you got a girl that’s riding for you & she loyal then keep her 💯 #Rilla factssss

INTERESTING

It seems RILLA is trying to spread “a word” of some sort…sounds to me a lot like LOYALTY. Like the three responses above:

  • “everybody claim they real but obviously not cus everybody falling out wit eachother”
    TRANSLATION: Just because people claim to be your friend, doesn’t mean they are
  • “depending on ppl will only lead to disappointments”
    TRANSLATION: You can’t depend on anybody
  • “if you got a girl that’s riding for you & she loyal then keep her”
    TRANSLATION: If your woman loves you, treat her right

Almost like I said in a Facebook post not to long ago….remember?

Loyalty

Very interesting indeed.
It’s like as if that RILLA sticker was talking to me…directly to me.

After certain incidences that have occurred to me in the past (those who know me KNOW what they are), it seems RILLA might be on to something.

But wait…
…there are other RILLAS on YouTube
  1. Rilla – Gone (Beat by Chris Calor)

  2. Rilla – Faded (The Prodigy)

  3. Rilla [H.L.]

MY CONCLUSION

Because of the baseball hat in the RILLA sticker

I’m guessing it’s these guys…

Thumbnail can anyone prove me wrong?

So all in all, it’s simple.

RILLA to me means this:

It's time to grow up.

Leave a Reply

