Homemade Soup Recipes

Posted: September 4, 2012 in Food and Drink
Tags:

The (Oldest) Most Original, Easy-to-Make, Homemade Soup Recipes

Homemade Soup Recipes Made Easy

The Reasoning behind “Homemade” in a Homemade Soup Recipe

Homemade soup recipes are becoming quite popular these days.

In fact, the word “homemade” means, made (or prepared) at home. So if you’re buying something in a can or in some other type of packaging, and it says “Homemade” on it, it kind of makes you think…don’t it?

Well, it should.
Anyway.

Homemade soup recipes (for some odd reason), are becoming a Hot commodity. That’s right, search engines all over the World Wide Web are being bombarded with requests and questions about homemade soup recipes.

But what makes a homemade soup recipe truly a homemade soup recipe?

This book is becoming quite popular, even with non-vegetarians

First off, please understand that the word “homemade” can literally be taken as serious as if something were calling itself “organic”.

And that’s not a good thing.

Just because we hear or see the word “homemade”, we’re suppose to automatically think that this particular item is better than usual.

A Beautiful Bowl of Soup: The Best Vegetarian Recipes by Paulette Mitchell

The word “homemade” catches my eye, like it’s suppose to, but I’m not thinking that it’s better.
Nope.
I see the word “homemade” and I’m thinking “Bullshit!”

Really. I do.

A homemade recipe to me is something different; something maybe even unique, but whatever it is that you do, whether it’s a secret ingredient or even how it’s prepared, it has a special touch that you have added to what would have been considered a basic recipe.

So, what I’m trying to tell you (or BETTER yet – Warn You), is DO NOT get fooled into buying something just because the word “homemade” appears somewhere on it.  Like I said earlier, the word “homemade” means as much to me as the word “organic” (and trust me, that’s a whole other story).

Order the Kindle Edition below, Thank You!

My Personal Tomato Soup Recipe

If you’re wondering if I posted any homemade soup recipes here – I did. However, you’ll have to click here if you’d like to see my personal homemade soup recipe for tomato soup.

You may NOT agree that it is completely homemade, but it’s as homemade as you’re going to get. My homemade tomato soup is made with tomatoes that were actually grown from my garden.

I must say, I’ve made my homemade tomato soup plenty of times, but this was the first time I made it using a vegetable that I grew myself. Honestly, I don’t know if it was the satisfaction that I grew the main ingredient (the tomato) or that it just tasted better than a store-bought. But I swear, this batch I made with my own vegetables brought out a bitter sweetness in a tomato soup that I’ve been obviously missing for over 40 years.

If you grow your own tomatoes, then you MUST try this recipe. I guarantee this will be a household favorite. (Don’t forget the grilled cheese!)

Order this t-shirt below, Thank You.

SIMPLE GRILLED CHEESE SANDWICH RECIPE
  • Butter two slices of bread on one side
  • Place slice of bread (butter side down) on a hot pan or other heated flat surface
  • Place a thin slice of cheese on bread
  • Place the other slice of bread on top of cheese butter side up
  • Wait one minute, then carefully flip to the other side
  • The grilled cheese sandwich is done when both sides have turned a delicious golden brown

Homemade Chicken Soup Recipe

Order this metal sign below, Thank You.

Unlike my homemade soup recipe for one of my favorite fruits – the tomato, I don’t have access to a chicken farm. But that’s not going to stop me from calling this chicken soup recipe homemade.

Go to your favorite trusted grocery store and buy TWO whole chickens already split into pieces.

TOTAL: 16 pieces
5 – 14oz Cans of Chicken Broth
1 –Campbell’s Cream of Chicken Soup – 50oz
1 package of carrots, sliced into wedges (cut like a pizza, a signature move – timely, but affective)
1 package of celery, sliced into small pieces
4 onions, chopped
3 packages of egg noodles
Salt, pepper & garlic powder

If you don't have a stock pot, may I suggest the Granite Ware 6139-1 34-Quart Stock Pot, Black

I always made more than enough when it came to soups. I figure with all the work you put into it, it should last for a couple of days…know what I mean?

I always prefered LARGE stock pots, 34 quarts or more, but of course it doesn’t really matter. Just make sure it can hold 16 pieces of chicken.

DIRECTIONS
  1. Boil chicken thoroughly, especially the breasts
  2. Remove chicken, cut into pieces and place back into pot
  3. Place on medium heat and add carrots, celery and onions
  4. Stirring occasionally, allow to slow boil until carrots are soft
  5. Add 2.5 bags of egg noodles (save that half bag for next time!)
  6. Stirring occasionally, cook until noodles are soft
  7. Add salt, pepper and garlic powder (to taste, if at all)

Homemade Vegetable Soup Recipe

If there’s ever a way to make a child eat their vegetables, make some vegetable soup. There’s no doubt in my mind, but I believe it is because of Campbell’s Soup Vegetable that I probably eat my ALL vegetables still today.

I usually decide to make a homemade vegetable soup when the crisper drawer starts looking a bit crowded. But here are the typical ingredients:

1 package of carrots, washed and then cut in half slices
1 entire stalk of celery, cut into small pieces
4 onions, peeled chopped into small pieces
2 green bell peppers, remove seeds and cut into small pieces
6 potatoes, washed and cut into pieces (skin on)
2 large heads of cabbage (cut into pieces)
2.5 large cans of V8 juice (I don’t know, buy 3 and drink half of one)
Optional
2 bags of frozen okra
2 bags of frozen corn
2 bags of frozen cauliflower
1 large roast, cut into small pieces

DIRECTIONS
  1. If you’re going to add meat, cook the meat first in stock pot filled with water until done.
  2. Remove meat and try to remove some of the fat out of the water.
  3. Cut the meat into pieces and put back in the water.
  4. Add 1 can of tomato juice and cook for 1.5 hours.
  5. Add carrots, potatoes and onions and cook until carrots are tender.
  6. Add the remaining vegetables and the rest of tomato juice.
  7. Cook until cabbage is almost tender, but still a bit firm.

Leave a Reply

